Who is The Good Wolf?

Leave a comment

August 29, 2017 by Darlene McC

Long time no blog.

Almost a year ago I started working with my friend and fellow coach Leia Desousa  on my approach to eating.  I was doing okay; but my results were inconsistent and I wanted to be better – and it has gotten way, way better with her guidance (even coaches need coaches!)

A few weeks ago, while completing an assignment to codify my personal philosophy about fitness, I ended it with “Feed the Good Wolf”.  Naturally, Leia was curious who this Good Wolf is – so I journaled about it.  And this is what came out:

____

In the Cherokee oral tradition there is the story of the grandfather and the two wolves.  The grandfather describes two wolves – the bad wolf is greed and envy and unhealthy habits and negative actions toward himself and others; the good wolf is self care and community, love and compassion, it’s healthy growth and creativity and expression.  He tells his grandchild that they’re doing battle for him every day.

“But grandfather, who will win?”  

“The one that wins is the one I feed.”

My wolves are doing battle for my neuroplastic mind.

So who is this good wolf and how do I feed her?

The good wolf is the part of me that considers my husband’s feelings and intentions when I make a decision.  She gets enough sleep and listens to my body instead of strong-arming that body with compensations and what my mind imposes.  The good wolf plays without self judgement or worry or self censorship.  She’s free to express herself.  The good wolf wants to care for others, because her needs are already being met.  

Because I care for myself, my Good Wolf is awake and well.  That care means:

  • Good food
  • Good sleep
  • Friendship
  • Fun
  • Love
  • Movement

The good wolf takes space when she needs it ~ because the good wolf doesn’t pass her emotional poison on to anyone else.

And she’s okay with asking for help or seeing a professional.

I feed the Good Wolf by giving her what she needs.  By choosing my response to difficult situations.  By taking time and space for myself as needed.

Leave a comment