Something New Catchup

2

March 12, 2011 by Darlene McC

A little disappointed in myself and the speed with which I’ve gotten away from the spirit of this exercise: to do something with intention every day and then write about it.  This is my catch-up post.  Feel free to flog me for my indiscretion.

Something New #13 – Lent Trap

This one’s pretty simple; new thing, new word.  Lent Trap:

In couples where one party is Catholic and the other is not, the unwilling subjection of the non-Catholic to the 40-day ritual of penitence known asLent.
1. We were going to have dinner at this great new steak place on Friday night, but Joe’s got me stuck in a Lent Trap.

2. My wife Jane decided to give up sex for Lent. Worst. Lent Trap. Ever.

– Urban Dictionary

I wasn’t raised Catholic, so my attachment to Lent is weaker than some; however, I have had the experience of “so-and-so gave up ____ and now I don’t get to have it either”.  Simple enough.  To make this one count I used it in casual conversation and shared it in my (very cool & unoffended) office.

SN #14 – Bubble Tea

Yes, it’s true ~ before this week I never had a bubble tea.  Weird, right?  Well, I tried it ~ here ya go:

Please excuse the head-tilt… my boss wasn’t sure how to shoot with my phone.

SN #15 – Moulin Rouge Drinking Game

It also may surprise you to know that I’ve never played a drinking game to a movie before.  That surly changed Tuesday night when I played the Moulin Rouge Drinking Game with a bottle of saki.  We modified the “standard online rules” because, frankly, some of them seemed stupid.  Our rules were as follows:

  • A girl lifts her skirt  (gee thats gonna be tough to find)
  • Satine makes that awful noise. (what .. is she trying to be seductive with that? who knows…)
  • Christian says “all you need is love”
  • Satine refuses to love Christian
  • Toulouse uses “W” instead of “L” or “R”
  • Zidler uses a nickname for Satine (ie “gosling”, “strawberry”, etc)
  • The Argentinean becomes unconcious
  • Satine sings “Diamonds are a girls best friend”
  • The Duke twitches his mustashe
  • Nini is a …”witch”
  • “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is ust to love and be loved in return” is spoken/sung

Hilarity ensued.

SN #16 – Garrulous

Another new word!  Garrulous is an obnoxious, pretentious way to mean “talkative”.  Now you know.

SN # 17 – Sliders

Or, technically, just tiny cheeseburgers because I wasn’t at a White Castle.  But I’d just never had little burgers before.  I’ve mean to; just didn’t order them.  Well… now I have:

They were tasty as all hell.  I’d honestly expected that they would be over-cooked and a bit tough (which is why I’d never gotten them), but they were perfectly done and I’ve been craving them a little bit ever since.

SN #18 – Killian’s Irish Red

It’s hard to believe that I’ve never had such a standard beer before, but it’s true.  Thought it was tasty and hoppy and had a very rich flavor.

 

Phew!  That’s a lot of new.

 

Bonus:

For your enjoyment, a video from the origami turtle experiment:

2 thoughts on “Something New Catchup

  1. […] An unintended (and awesome) side affect of this experiment has been the interest and investment of my friends and family. Not only in playing the “well, have you…?” game, buy also ‘donating’ the food or item involved in “dot dot dot” when they stumble upon one.  Coupled with this phenomenon is often awe that I hadn’t done that thing before.  Examples include a few of the beers I tried and bubble tea. […]

  2. […] An unintended (and awesome) side affect of this experiment has been the interest and investment of my friends and family. Not only in playing the “well, have you…?” game, buy also ‘donating’ the food or item involved in “dot dot dot” when they stumble upon one.  Coupled with this phenomenon is often awe that I hadn’t done that thing before.  Examples include a few of the beers I tried and bubble tea. […]

Leave a comment